According to The Verge, WhatsApp’s new update restricts the visibility of your status to people you’ve added to the platform and instead defaults to “My Contacts.”
The “My Contacts” option for your “last seen” status has always been available, but it has never been the app’s default.
It’s also worth noting that WhatsApp already has a “Nobody” option for hiding your status from all users.
Your WhatsApp status tells other contacts when you were last online and if you’re currently using the app.
Turning on the “My Contacts” option prevents third-party apps from logging your online status because an app isn’t considered one of your contacts and thus can’t see your status.